## REALIGNMENT 2018: Class 5A Mock Alignment

247sports.com/high-school/texas/Article/REALIGNMENT-2018-Class-5A-Mock-Alignment--113478070/



First split 5A alignment a tricky one

## By Jason Chlapek

Now that the cutoff numbers have been released for the 2018-20 UIL Realignment, things won't be any easier for Class 5A.

Adding to the degree of difficulty that is the Class 5A puzzle is the split-division format for football that has been used in Classes 4A-A over the last four seasons. The cutoff for 5A is 1,150-2,189 -- 1,840-2,189 for 5A-Division I and 1,150-1,839 for 5A-Division II.

As far as a regional breakdown, there are 19 El Paso area schools (6 in DI, 13 in DII), 13 West Texas schools (7 in DI, 6 in DII), 78 DFW area schools (38 DI, 40 DII), 13 East Texas schools (3 DI, 10 DII), 59 Houston/Golden Triangle/Brazos Valley area schools (31 DI, 28 DII), 22 Austin area schools (14 DI, 8 DII), 24 San Antonio area schools (15 DI, 9 DII), 14 Corpus Christi/Gulf Coast area schools (9 DI, 5 DII), 15 RGV area schools (9 DI, 6 DII), two Laredo ISD schools (each in separate divisions), Eagle Pass Winn (DI) and Waco University (DII). While it's easy to give El Paso District 1 in DI and Districts 1 and 2 in DII, and give West Texas District 3 in DI and District 2 in DII, figuring out the remainder of the field was tough.

In DI, it would be apropos to give DFW Districts 3-7 with Texarkana Texas and Tyler John Tyler joining District 7, and put the six Austin ISD schools and Dripping Springs in District 8 to fill out the first two regions. District 9 would be the other seven suburban Austin schools and Seguin in a district of eight, while Lufkin and College Station would join schools north and northwest of Houston in District 10.

Districts 11 and 12 would be Greater Houston as well to finish out Region III-DI. Region IV-DI would consist of Districts 13 and 14 being Greater San Antonio -- with Laredo Martin and Eagle Pass Winn joining District 14, the two Victoria ISDs in District 15 with Corpus Christi area schools, and the RGV taking District 16.

In DII, El Paso gets Districts 1 and 2, while West Texas (the two Wichita Falls ISDs, Abilene Wylie, Plainview, Lubbock Cooper and Canyon Randall) make up District 3. District 4 would be eight DFW area schools and Waco University to round out Region I-DII.

Region II-DII would be all DFW with the exception of Greenville, who would be part of District 8. East Texas' other nine schools would make up District 9, while Greater Houston, the Golden Triangle and Brenham out of the Brazos Valley would combine to make up Districts 10-12 to complete Region III-DII.

The other two Brazos Valley schools -- Bryan Rudder and College Station A&M Consolidated -- would join six Austin area schools to make up District 13. District 14 would be Marble Falls and schools in the Greater SA region, while District 15 would be Lockhart, Floresville and SA Southside joining schools from the Corpus Christi and Gulf Coast areas, and District 16 would be Laredo Cigarroa and six schools from the RGV.

Until the day that El Paso, West Texas, East Texas, Del Rio and Eagle Pass redraw their boundary lines or build more high schools to make every school in those regions Class 5A or lower, there will be difficulties and long travel for somebody outside those regions. But four El Paso and four West Texas districts in 5A as well as two East Texas districts and a Southwest Texas district of two San Felipe-Del Rio CISD schools, 2-3 Eagle Pass ISDs, Uvalde and Medina Valley is something to dream about.

Class 5A-Division I

Region I

District 1

EP Chapin

EP Eastlake

EP El Dorado

**EP Eastwood** 

EP Del Valle

EP Bel Air

District 2

Abilene Cooper

Amarillo

Amarillo Caprock

Amarillo Palo Duro

Lubbock

Lubbock Coronado

**Lubbock Monterey** 

District 3

Azle

Brewer

Crowley

Granbury

NRH Birdville

Saginaw Chisholm Trail

Saginaw Boswell

Saginaw

District 4

Denton

Denton Ryan

FW South Hills

FW Arlington Heights

Grapevine

Colleyville Heritage

The Colony

Little Elm

Region II

District 5

Frisco Centennial

Frisco Lone Star

Frisco Liberty

Frisco Wakeland

Frisco Heritage

Frisco Independence

McKinney North

Sherman

District 6

Carrollton Turner

Carrollton Smith

Carrollton Creekview

Dallas Highland Park

Dallas Adams

Dallas Sunset

Dallas Samuell

## Dallas Wilson

District 7

Lancaster

Mansfield Legacy

Mansfield Timberview

Mesquite Poteet

West Mesquite

Texarkana

John Tyler

Wylie East

District 8

Austin Johnson

Austin McCallum

Austin Lanier

**Austin Crockett** 

**Austin Travis** 

Austin Reagan

**Dripping Springs** 

Region III

District 9

Georgetown

Hutto

Cedar Park

Leander Rouse

Manor

Pflugerville Connally

Pflugerville

Seguin

District 10

College Station

Conroe Caney Creek

Lufkin

Magnolia

Magnolia West

Tomball

Waller

Willis

District 11

Baytown Memorial

Galena Park

**Houston Austin** 

**Houston Wisdom** 

Humble Kingwood Park

New Caney

**New Caney Porter** 

PA Memorial

District 12

Alvin Shadow Creek

Angleton

Fort Bend Hightower

Friendswood

Galveston Ball

Richmond Foster

Rosenberg Terry

**Texas City** 

Region IV

District 13

Northside Harlan

SA Brackenridge

SA Burbank

SA Edison

SA Highlands

SA Houston

SA Jefferson

SA Lanier

District 14

Eagle Pass Winn

Laredo Martin

Harlandale

McCollum

Southwest

Legacy

Judson Wagner

Judson Vets Memorial

District 15

CC Carroll

**CC** King

CC Miller

CC Moody

CC Ray

CC Vets Memorial

Flour Bluff

Victoria East

Victoria West

District 16

Brownsville Lopez

Brownsville Porter

Brownsville Pace

Brownsville Veterans Memorial

La Joya Palmview

Mission Vets Memorial

PSIA Memorial

**PSJA Southwest** 

RGC

Class 5A-Division II

Region I

District 1

El Paso

**EP Austin** 

**EP Andress** 

**EP Bowie** 

**EP Burges** 

**EP Irvin** 

EP Jefferson

District 2

Canutillo

Clint Horizon

**EP Hanks** 

**EP Parkland** 

**EP Riverside** 

**EP Ysleta** 

District 3

Abilene Wylie

Canyon Randall

Lubbock Cooper

Plainview

Wichita Falls

WF Rider

District 4

Aledo

Arlington Seguin

Burleson

**Burleson Centennial** 

Cleburne

Everman

Joshua

Midlothian

Waco University

Region II

District 5

FW Carter-Riverside

FW Eastern Hills

FW North Side

FW Polytechnic

FW Southwest

FW Trimble Tech

FW Wyatt

Justin Northwest

District 6

Dallas Adamson

Dallas Conrad

Dallas Jefferson

Dallas Kimball

Dallas Seagoville

Dallas South Oak Cliff

Dallas Spruce

Red Oak

District 7

**Denton Braswell** 

Denison

Frisco

Frisch Lebanon Trail

Frisco Memorial

Frisco Reedy

Lake Dallas

Lovejoy

Princeton

District 8

Corsicana

**Ennis** 

Forney

North Forney

Greenville

Kaufman

Royse City

Terrell

Region III

District 9

Hallsville

Jacksonville

Lindale

Marshall

Mt. Pleasant

Nacogdoches

Pine Tree

Whitehouse

**Sulphur Springs** 

District 10

Brenham

Cleveland

Crosby

Dayton

Huntsville

Katy Paetow

Montgomery

Montgomery Lake Creek

District 11

Barbers Hill

Baytown Lee

**Beaumont Central** 

Beaumont Ozen

Manvel

Nederland

**PNG** 

Santa Fe

Vidor

District 12

Fort Bend Marshall

Fort Bend Willowridge

**Houston Madison** 

**Houston Milby** 

Houston Northside

**Houston Sharpstown** 

Houston Sterling

Houston Waltrip Rosenberg Lamar

Region IV

District 13

A&M Consolidated

Bryan Rudder

Bastrop

Cedar Creek

Elgin

Georgetown East View

Leander Glenn

Pflugerville Weiss

District 14

Alamo Heights

**Boerne Champion** 

Kerrville Tivy

Kennedy

Memorial

Marble Falls

Medina Valley

Uvalde

District 15

Alice

Calallen

Floresville

**Gregory-Portland** 

Lockhart

Port Lavaca Calhoun

Southside

Tuloso-Midway

District 16

Edcouch-Elsa

Laredo Cigarroa

Mercedes

Pharr Valley View

Roma

Sharyland

Sharyland Pioneer